Primoz Roglic wins the time trial and becomes the first leader of Itzulia 2024

  • Primoz Roglic wins the time trial in Irun 
  • 15-second difference between the favourites in the general classification 

After a year of waiting, the Itzulia is finally rolling again. In its centenary edition, the race started with a 10km individual time trial, with both start and finish lines located in Irun.  

The day dawned sunny, cloudy and threatening rain in the afternoon. The favourites in the general classification decided to start early to avoid the potential rainfall. Before the race, Thomas Pidcock (166, IGD) had suffered a fall during the reconnaissance lap which ruled him out of the starting lineup.   

As the riders began to flow through the streets of Irun, their times were soon smashed by the favourites. Pello Bilbao (111, TBV) set the best time, but Juan Ayuso (101, UAD) stole first place by 9 seconds soon after. Behind, Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) and Jonas Vingegaard (1, TVL) started their races. The double winner of the Itzulia was on fire, overcoming the Spaniard by 19 seconds, despite a mistake at the entrance to the finish, a great time for the Slovenian. Defending champion Vingegaard was 18 seconds behind. Stage favourites included Mattias Skjelmose (71, LDT) and Remco Evenepoel (21, SOQ), the reigning world time trial champion who started the Itzulia in the rainbow jersey, and whose wheel lost grip in the second corner, going to ground and losing time, but was able to continue. Ultimately losing 11 seconds to the virtual leader. The Lidl-Trek rider took the second fastest provisional time at the finish line ahead of Evenepoel. 

The riders continued to arrive at the finish, but none managed to beat the best time. Where, despite the confusion, Roglic took the best provisional time.  

Jay Vine managed to take second place at the finish just 7 seconds behind Roglic.  

At the end of the first stage, Primoz Roglic is the overall race leader, with his main competitors close behind. Tomorrow sees the first online stage, starting in Irun and finishing in Kanbo.  

Standings after Stage 1 

Stage winner: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Overall individual ranking: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Mountain classification: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Overall points classification: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Overall ranking best young rider: Juan Ayuso (UAD, 101) 

Overall team classification: UAE TEAM EMIRATES 

Overall ranking best Basque rider: Ion Izagirre (COF, 91) 

Most combative: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Carlos Rodriguez wins the sixth stage and Juan Ayuso wins the Itzulia 2024
Romain Grégoire sprints to take the fifth stage of the Itzulia in Amorebieta-Etxano 
Louis Meintjes wins the fourth stage of the Itzulia in Legutio