Paul Lapeira takes the second stage with a sprint to the finish in Kanbo

  • Paul Lapeira wins the second stage after a very close sprint 
  • Primoz Roglic retains the yellow jersey for another day 
  • Differences in the general classification between the favourites are unchanged 

After several years’ absence, the Itzulia returned to Iparralde for the second stage between Irun and Kanbo. Although the stage only has one mountain pass, 160 kilometres of constant ups and downs awaited the riders. A sunny start to the day in Irun saw all of the riders still in the race take to the starting line.  

The day’s breakaway formed almost immediately at kilometre 7, comprised of Alexis Vuillermoz (147, TEN), Enekoitz Azparren (177, EUS), Ivan Cobo (193, EKP), Jetse Bol (227, BBH) and Xabier Azparren (231, Q36). The group of 5 riders pushed on towards the finish line in Kanbo at a good pace with a maximum margin of 3’40” over the peloton.  

Ivan Cobo (193, EKP) subsequently lost contact with the leaders at kilometre 70. The trailing peloton was led by team Bora-Hansgrohe, which worked constantly to support its leader. The Azparren brothers, Bol and Vuillermoz kept the gap at about 3 minutes. With 60 kilometres to go, Ineos Grenadiers put its men to work to close the gap with the breakaway. The race became tougher with more ups and downs. Areas with very narrow roads where everyone wanted to lead.  

As the kilometres passed, it became clear that the peloton wanted to sprint. With 25 kilometres to go, the escapees maintained a 45’’ lead. 13 kilometres out from the finish, the 4 escapees were neutralised by the peloton. The final kilometres were very fast as the riders competed for the intermediate sprint points and given the importance of good position for the last 3 kilometres of the stage. 

After a very close sprint, Paul Lapeira (186, DAT) took the win.  

Standings after Stage 2 

Stage winner: Paul Lapeira (186, DAT) 

Overall individual ranking: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Mountain classification: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Overall points classification: Primoz Roglic (31, BOH) 

Overall ranking best young rider: Juan Ayuso (UAD, 101) 

Overall team classification: Bora-Hansgrohe 

Overall ranking best Basque rider: Pello Bilbao (TBV, 111) 

Most combative: Alexis Vuillermoz (147, TEN) 

Carlos Rodriguez wins the sixth stage and Juan Ayuso wins the Itzulia 2024
Romain Grégoire sprints to take the fifth stage of the Itzulia in Amorebieta-Etxano 
Louis Meintjes wins the fourth stage of the Itzulia in Legutio