Ethan Hayter wins the first stage of the Itzulia 2023 and becomes the first leader of the race

  • Ethan Hayter wins the first stage of the Itzulia 2023 and becomes the leader of the race

And so it was, after months of waiting, the Itzulia Basque Country 2023 was on. The race started in Vitoria-Gasteiz, with 160 riders ready to put on a show over 6 intense days.

The peloton set off from Vitoria-Gasteiz towards Labastida, 165.4 Km to decide who would wear the yellow jersey for the first time in 2023. As soon as the start sounded, the first attacks began and a group of 7 riders formed, although it did not ultimately work out.  It was not until the start of the Opakua pass that the breakaway consolidated with 3 riders; Cristian Rodriguez (ARK, 31), Jon Barrenetxea (CJR, 194) and Txomin Juaristi (EUS, 216).

Jon Barrenetxea (CJR, 194) topped the Opakua pass in a hotly contested sprint. The winner gets to wear the mountains jersey in the second stage. The escapees achieved a maximum gap of 3 minutes and 52 seconds. The Ineos Grenadiers team set the pace and controlled the distance at all times. The gap to the breakaway was gradually reduced until it caught the escapees with 30 kilometres to go.

Everything has to be fought for this year and the second intermediate sprint made clear the intentions of the team leaders in which Daniel Felipe Martinez (IGD, 1) and Jonas Vingegaard (TJV, 161) fought for the 3 seconds. In the end, the Colombian hit the jackpot.

The finish was very fast and nervous in search of the best place for the final sprint. Ethan Hayter won the first stage of the Itzulia 2023 and becomes the first leader of the race.

Tomorrow, the second stage between Viana and Leitza brings a change of philosophy, with 5 mountain passes, numerous descents and a final circuit.

Standings after Stage 1

Stage winner: Ethan Hayter (IGD, 5)

Overall individual ranking: Ethan Hayter (IGD, 5)

Mountain classification: Jon Barrenetxea (CJR, 194)

Overall points classification: Ethan Hayter (IGD, 5)

Overall ranking best young rider: Ethan Hayter (IGD, 5)

Overall team classification: Ineos Grenadiers

Overall ranking best Basque rider: Jon Aberasturi (TFS, 152)

Overall ranking best Basque rider: Txomin Juaristi (EUS, 216)

Carlos Rodriguez wins the sixth stage and Juan Ayuso wins the Itzulia 2024
Romain Grégoire sprints to take the fifth stage of the Itzulia in Amorebieta-Etxano 
Louis Meintjes wins the fourth stage of the Itzulia in Legutio