Jonas Vingegaard wins at the Hika wall and takes the yellow jersey

  • The Hika wall now has a king, Jonas Vingegaard.
  • Jonas Vingegaard takes the overall lead and gets to wear the yellow jersey tomorrow.

Stage three was significant amongst the favourites due to its potential importance for the overall classification. It could be described as a lot of ups and downs and a very tough finish.

The stage started with a breakaway of 6 riders formed by Nicolas Prodhomme (ACT, 17), Thibault Guernalec (ARK, 33), Simon Geschke (COF, 63), Georg Zimmermann (ICW, 107), Remi Cavagna (SOQ, 131) and Pierre Latour (TEN, 226).

The peloton controlled the breakaway from the get-go. Achieving a maximum lead of 2 minutes and 40 seconds. Jumbo Visma wanted to control the speed of the race and set a very fast pace.

As the kilometres passed, the breakaway lost riders due to the harshness of the terrain and the high pace that had been set. In the end, Georg Zimmermann (ICW, 107) and Remi Cavagna (SOQ, 131) took the lead. However, after a change of pace in the peloton on the climb up Orendain, they managed to catch the escapees with 26 kilometres to go. Jayco Alula and EF Education – Easypost started to set the pace with the peloton grouped.

Several attacks followed and Esteban Chaves (EFE, 84), Laurens Huys (ICW, 104) and Bauke Mollema (TFS, 155) gained a few metres on the peloton. With 15 kilometres to go, Esteban Chaves (EFE, 84) was alone and despite an attack by Mikel Landa (TBV, 141) managed to maintain his 15-second margin.

With just 6 kilometres to the finish, James Knox (SOQ, 134) and Juan Pedro Lopez (TFS, 156) caught Chaves.

It wasn’t until the last kilometre that the favourites made their presence felt.

The Hika wall with its 26% maximum gradient decided the winner of the third stage. Jonas Vingegaard won both the stage and the Itzulia yellow jersey.

Standings after Stage 3

Stage winner: Jonas Vingegaard (TJV, 161)

Overall individual ranking: Jonas Vingegaard (TJV, 161)

Mountain classification: Jon Barrenetxea (CJR, 194)

Overall points classification: Alex Aranburu (MOV, 123)

Overall ranking best young rider: Skjelmose Mattias Jensen (TFS, 131)

Overall team classification: Movistar Team

Overall ranking best Basque rider: Mikel Landa (TBV, 141)

Most combative: Remi Cavagna (SOQ, 131)

The edition of 2023 in numbers
Jonas Vingegaard takes his first txapela and wins the final stage of the Itzulia 2023
Sergio Higuita wins in a sprint to the line in Amorebieta-Etxano and Jonas Vingegaard gets to defend the yellow jersey in the final stage of the Itzulia