Itzulia 2022 and the new winners’ jerseys officially presented

  • The 61st edition of the Itzulia will feature the best cyclists from the international peloton.
  • Primoz Roglic is set to start on 4 April in Hondarribia to defend his 2021 victory

The official presentation of the Ituzlia Basque Country 2022 was held today 24 March at the Itsas Etxea Auditorium in Hondarribia. The event was attended by Bingen Zupiria, Minister of Culture and Spokesperson for Linguistic Policy, Txomin Sagarzazu, Mayor of Hondarribia, Itziar Mahave, Northern Territorial Commercial Network Director, Goizane Álvarez, Youth and Sports Director at the Diputación Foral de Gipuzkoa, Iratxe Ganan, Marketing, Brand and Communications at TotalEnergies, Mikel Arrillaga, Head of Brand and Markets at HAZI, among others.

Given the presence of the town councils, institutions, sponsors and friends of the race Julian Eraso took the opportunity to “thank everyone for their support, without which this race would not have gone ahead. We live in changing and very turbulent times, so the gratitude is twofold”.

Gobik will once again provide the jerseys this year. With a new design compared to last year, based mainly on the name of the race: “Itzulia.”

The colours of victory

The set of Gobik jerseys for the Itzulia Basque Country 2022 includes four designs, yellow for the winner (sponsored by Banco Sabadell), and jerseys for the mountain (Eusko Label), consistency (Diputación Foral de Gipuzkoa) and youth (Euskadi Basque Country) sections.

Six stages of the world’s best cycling

The Itzulia Basque Country 2022 will take place from 4 to 9 April between Hondarribia and Arrate over a total of six stages. The race sets off from the small town of Hondarribia with a 7.51 km time trial, passing through the towns of Leitza, Viana, Laudio, Amurrio, Vitoria-Gasteiz, Zamudio, Mallabia and finishing in Eibar, with the traditional ascent to the Sanctuary of Arrate.

The provisional entry list includes the reigning Itzulia champion Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), the two-time world champion Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) and the following riders: Enric Mas (Movistar Team), Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Adam Yates y Geraint Thomas de (Ineos Grenadiers), Ion Izagirre (Cofidis), Michael Woods (Israel-Premier Tech), David Gaudu (Groupama-FDJ), Brandon Mcnulty (UAE Team Emirates) and Peio Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious) among others.

The edition of 2023 in numbers
Jonas Vingegaard takes his first txapela and wins the final stage of the Itzulia 2023
Sergio Higuita wins in a sprint to the line in Amorebieta-Etxano and Jonas Vingegaard gets to defend the yellow jersey in the final stage of the Itzulia